Bryan Mogridge appointed as Chairman of Bupa Australia & New Zealand

Bupa today announced that Bryan Mogridge ONZM has been appointed as Chairman of Bupa Australia and New Zealand following the resignation of the Honourable Nicola Roxon.

Roger Davis, Chairman of the Bupa Group said: 

“I would like to thank the Honourable Nicola Roxon for her excellent contribution to Bupa Australia and New Zealand over the past five years, first as a Non-Executive Director and then as Chairman. We have greatly valued her unique insights, skills and experience and her deep understanding of the health and community services sector. We sincerely thank her for her significant contribution to Bupa and wish her every success.

“I'm delighted that Bryan Mogridge succeeds Nicola as Chairman. Bryan knows Bupa well having been a Non-Executive Director of Bupa Australia and New Zealand since 2013 and Chairman of Bupa Care Services New Zealand and its predecessor from 1998-2015. He brings substantial experience having served on the boards of both private and public companies, in Australia and New Zealand, and as a distinguished business leader over many years.”

Bryan Mogridge said:

“It is an honour to be appointed Chairman of Bupa Australia and New Zealand. I look forward to working with Hisham El-Ansary as Chief Executive Officer and the team to pursue Bupa’s purpose of helping people live ‘longer, healthier, happier lives’. I would also like to recognise the significant contribution that Nicola has made and wish her well for the future.”

Nicola Roxon said: 

“It has been a privilege to have served as Chair and a Board Member over the past five years. Bupa provides vital services across health insurance, dental, optical, medical visa services and aged care. With Hisham El-Ansary in place as Chief Executive Officer, now is an appropriate time for me to leave. I have great respect for Hisham who is bringing great passion and energy to the leadership of Bupa Australia and New Zealand.”

Bupa also announced Michael Hawker’s appointment as the Deputy Chairman of the Bupa Australia and New Zealand Board. Michael joined the Bupa Australia and New Zealand Board in April this year as a Non-Executive Director and is also a member of the Bupa Group Board.


Notes for editors:


Nicola Roxon

The Honourable Nicola Roxon was appointed as Non-Executive Director of the Bupa Australia and New Zealand Board in 2014 and Chairman in March 2018. Ms Roxon was a member of the Australian Parliament from 1998 to 2013 and was Australia's Health Minister and Minister for Ageing for four years from 2007. Ms Roxon received national and international awards in recognition of her public health work, particularly for driving Australia's leadership in tobacco control (introducing plain packaging). In 2011, Ms Roxon became the nation's first female Attorney-General and was appointed Minister for Emergency Management in 2012. Ms Roxon is the Chair of the Health Employees Superannuation Trust of Australia (HESTA). Ms Roxon is a Non-Executive director of Dexus and Lifestyle Communities and is also a patron of BreastWest Foundation. Ms Roxon holds a BA/LLB (first class honours) from Melbourne University and is a graduate member of the Australian Institute of Company Directors.

Bryan Mogridge

Mr Bryan Mogridge ONZM joined as Chairman of Bupa Care Services NZ Ltd, New Zealand’s largest private aged care provider, in 1998. He was appointed a Non-Executive Director of Bupa Australia and New Zealand Group in 2013. Mr Mogridge has wide experience at both director and executive level, spanning over 45 years. He has been Chief Executive Officer of two public companies and a director of several public companies. He is a Non-Executive Director of Mainfreight, SeaDragon (NZX listed companies) and Adherium Ltd (ASX listed company). Mr Mogridge has chaired the Board of Trustees of the Starship Foundation (New Zealand’s National Children’s Hospital) for over 20 years and has chaired national bodies such as The NZ Wine Institute, The NZ Food and Beverage Exporters Council and The New Zealand Tourism Board. He is a recipient of the New Zealand Order of Merit (ONZM).

Michael Hawker

Mr Michael Hawker joined the Board of Bupa Australia and New Zealand Group and the Bupa Group in April 2019. He has extensive knowledge and experience of financial services with a long career in the banking and insurance industries in both executive and Non-Executive roles in Europe, Asia and Australia. Mr Hawker is a Non-Executive Director of Macquarie Group Ltd (banking), Macquarie Bank Ltd (banking) and Washington H Soul Pattinson Pty and Company Ltd (investment). He was formerly a Non-Executive Director and Chairman of the Risk Committee of Aviva plc, Chief Executive and Managing Director of Insurance Australia Group (insurance), Group Chief Executive of business and consumer banking at Westpac Banking Corporation (banking), Chairman of The George Institute for Global Health (medical research institution), and Chairman of the Insurance Council of Australia (insurance representative body). Mr Hawker won 25 rugby caps for Australia during an international career between 1980-87. He was Chairman and Non-Executive Director of the Australian Rugby Union and a member of the International Rugby Board Council and Executive Committee. He is a Member in the General Division of the Order of Australia.


Subscribe to receive the latest news from Bupa

Return to media releases and statements